Continuing On The Theme of The Cross

The cross-

– not only saves us,

– but it continues to sanctify us.

Jesus said:

"Whosoever will come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross,

and follow Me" Mark 8:34.

Many people think that this means that our "cross" is-

– a sickness,

– an unsaved spouse,

– or a cruel boss etc.

However-

– a cross is not something that is forced upon you over which you have no choice.

A cross is-

-something you willingly take up!

Jesus willingly laid down His life.

He calls us to do the same.

Your cross is-

– when you willingly die to yourself.

You do this by saying-

– "No," to sin and self,

– and "Yes," to God and His Word!

Offer this prayer of commitment to God today:

"Father, forgive me for putting myself first and You second.

Forgive me for not taking up my cross to follow after You.

Give me Your grace to die to myself to die to those things in my life which do not bring You glory.

And draw me closer to You;Amen!"

Leave a Reply

