Worthless Worry

Grace for the Moment

(e-Sword version)

Max Lucado

January 3

Worthless Worry

I was young, and now I am old, but I have never seen good people left helpless or their children begging for food. —Psa_37:25

We worry. We worry about the IRS and the SAT and the FBI… We worry that we won’t have enough money, and when we have money we worry that we won’t manage it well. We worry that the world will end before the parking meter expires. We worry what the dog thinks if he sees us step out of the shower. We worry that someday we’ll learn that fat-free yogurt was fattening.

Honestly, now. Did God save you so you would fret? Would he teach you to walk just to watch you fall? Would he be nailed to the cross for your sins and then disregard your prayers? Come on. Is Scripture teasing us when it reads, "He has put his angels in charge of you to watch over you wherever you go"? (Psa_91:11 ).

I don’t think so either.

In the Grip of Grace

One thought on “Worthless Worry

  1. Hey Charles! Unfortunately we worry too much. Satan has his way with many of us, myself included. OH how many times I pray against that ! I really despise the ways that creep into our lives and cause us to worry. I pray that God would just make it vanish. Often times, I know where it is coming from but when you have been verbally abused most of your life when you were younger, it becomes habit to worry. Oh Lord..help me get rid of this! AMEN

Leave a Reply

